Funeral Pyrate

funeral-pyrate-and-bartholomew-grim

Funeral Pyrate and Bartholomew Grim

I have a personal project on the go – loads to do but I have produced some initial drawings and I have a plan, so I figure why not blog about it and share his adventures with the one or two people who bother reading this nonsense.

He is called Funeral Pyrate and he is a strange one. Initially my idea was to use the poor guy as a drawing tool – a way of practicing poses, textures and scenarios – to help me improve and to make it fun.

Because I am self-taught I constantly look for interesting ways to explore ideas and techniques. I decided to create strange people to move around the strange world we live in, and dream about. Funeral Pyrate is the main protagonist who I originally conjured up to assist me with depicting different adventures from dreams and the imagination, and from everyday life.

But I got this really cool book called “How to Draw Sci-fi utopias and distopias” by Prentis Rollins, and it occurred to me that I could use this book alongside Funeral Pyrate and work on my environments at the same time. I think it might be fun to tell this story in pictures. I have drawn out a few pieces – exploring his appearance and personality – and some of that has changed from my initial idea already – just from redraws and daydreaming. I have a picture in my head right now – of Funeral Pyrate and his recently rescued (read ‘dug up’) pals carrying their belongings, heading towards a cityscape, under a dark sky.

More drawings for funeral pyrate

Bibliography and Inspiration

Martin, Justin.,  Poses for Artists, Vol. 1 and 2,  Eagel Ink Factory, Justin Martin, 2016.

Anatomy Essentials, Imagine FX/Future Publishing.

Sketching from the Imagination: Sci Fi, 3dtotal Publishing, 2015

500 Manga Villains and Heroes, Yishan Studio, 2010

How to Draw Sci-fi utopias and distopias” by Prentis Rollins, The Monacelli Press, 2016

Music I listened to

Chronicles of the Wasteland/ Turbo Kid Original Motion Picture Soundtrack  –  Le Matos, 2015

The Expanse Soundtrack (Youtube/spotify)

Warm Bodies Soundtrack (Youtube/spotify)

Leave a Reply

